Connect with us


Nigerian footballers, national team win big at CAF 2023 awards



Victor Osimhen; CAF President, Dr. Patrice Motsepe and Asisat Oshoala

…Osimhen, Oshoala win Player of the Year

On Monday, Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala won the highest honours at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) annual awards ceremony in Marrakech, Morocco.

Asisat Oshoala was named Women’s Player of the Year, and Victor Osimhen was named Men’s Player of the Year.

Nigerian icon Oshoala secured the CAF Women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time. The attacker’s dominance continued as she inspired Barcelona to Champions League glory, finishing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

She also helped Nigeria in a legendary run during the women’s World Cup in New Zealand and Australia. 


Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year
(Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt).

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *