Connect with us


Paralympic Committee of Nigeria Pick Date For Elective Congress



Pcn president, Brig. Gen. Emico Eruwa (rtd) and Dr.(Mrs. Thechla Opara, Director, Para-Sports Department, Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development

The leadership of the Paralympic Committee of Nigeria (PCN) has concluded plans for its Elective Congress slated for Asaba, Delta State on Monday 15 May 2023.

President of PCN, Brig. Gen. Emico Eruwa (rtd) while stating this, thanked the Government of Delta State for agreeing to host the congress.

He said the PCN Executive board has been having sleepless nights concerning the congress due to lack of funds until Delta State came to the rescue.

“By this gesture, Delta State has proven to be PCN friendly state and the body will ever be grateful to them for this relief. Now that we have a sponsor, we’ll now concentrate on logistics as I can’t wait to hand over to the incoming president, the immediate past President of Nigeria Wheelchair Basketball Federation, Gen. Emico Eruwa concludes.

With the election tagged ‘ASABA 2023’ holding barely a week after the wheelchair Basketball president and Vice President elections were held in Abuja to conclude all Para-sports Federation elections, the PCN Secretary General Issa Suleiman informed that all logistics that will ensure free, fair and credible election is already in place.

These include a 3-man electoral Committee made up of Dr. (Mrs. Thechla Opara, Director Para Sports Department, Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development(FMYSD), Chief Solomon Ogba, Vice President, Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) and Mr.Tunde Kazeem.

Also set up is a two-man Appeals Committee which has Dr. Segun Akinlotan as Chairman while Mr.. Patrick Ibeh is the Secretary.

All protests arising from the election must be filed to the Appeals Committee within 24 hours of the election and must be accompanied by the sum of One Hundred Thousand Naira (#100,000) being the appeal fee for the executive office while that of the regional election attracts Fifty Thousand Naira (#50,000).

Meanwhile, with the nomination already over, four candidates are vying for the post of president.
They include CP Anderson Bankole (Para Table Tennis), Mr Sunday Odebode (Para Table Tennis) Mr Paul Mduakor (President, Nigeria Amputee Football Federation) and Mr Chiemeka Charles (president, Nigeria Para Powerlifting Federation while the post of the Secretary-General is a straight fight between the incumbent Secretary General Mr. Issa Suleiman and Mr. Kayode Oladele (President Nigeria Sitting Volleyball Federation

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *