Connect with us


Nigeria and Republic of Benin Female National Basketball teams set to debut in Crown Elite All-Star Weekend and Awards



…As Oceanic and Sahel Conference male and female All-Star select teams compete for honours

In celebration of Crown Elite’s 10th Anniversary, Nigeria’s most beloved sports management organization today announced an action-packed lineup of festivities, first of its kind.

Crown Elite All-Star Weekend is scheduled for 21st April to 23rd April 2023 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Following a national call for nominations that saw more than 40,000 basketball fans from across Nigeria casting votes for their favourite male and female players, Crown Elite has

confirmed the teams and details for the Oceanic and Sahel Conference teams participating in

the All-Star Competition.

48 of Nigeria’s top male and female talents will compete for the coveted title of 2023 Crown Elite All Star Champions as well as N3m in cash prizes and awards.

“The competition between these conference teams is sure to be thrilling as these are the best of the best players in Nigeria basketball,” said Hanson Oguche, the president of Crown Elite Sports, organizers of the All-Star competition and Awards.

“The event is intended to inspire excellence, while celebrating individual achievements of outstanding players, officials and stakeholders in Nigeria basketball.”

The Sahel Conference men’s All-Star team will be coached by Baba Jubril (Head Coach) and

Hamza Abubakar (Asst. Coach), while the women’s team will be coached by Coach Mohammed Abba (Head Coach) and Coach Tony Nelson (Asst. Coach).

The Oceanic Conference men’s team will be coached by Ogoh Odaudu (Head Coach) and Coach Emma (Asst. Coach), while the women’s team will be coached by Taiye Adeniyi (Head Coach) and Ochuko (Asst. Coach).

In addition to the much-anticipated competition between top the fan selected conference teams, the Nigerian female national team will be locking horns with the Republic of Benin female national team, highlighting a series of friendly exhibition games that will precede the All-Star matchup.

The international friendly encounter between the two countries will take place on 21st April 2023, at 4pm.

Ebun Comets and Raptors Basketball Club will also grace the court.

The Crown Elite All-Star Weekend will also include several fan-favourite events like the slam

dunk and three-point shooting contests, Crown Elite will be hosting an invite-only VIP Awards

Presentation on 23rd April 2023, at Four Points by Sheraton Hotel Lagos.

This expansion to Crown Elite’s yearly event is aimed at showcasing and celebrating the best players, coaches, technical officials, and stakeholders in the country’s basketball ecosystem.

Started in 2013, Crown Elite Sports is an international sports management organization founded by ex-international player Hanson Oguche to maximize the potential of talented youth athletes and professional players. Through sporting championships, player development programs, and educational counselling, Crown Elite’s championship events plan to become the most renowned national and international forum for showcasing talented African athletes.

Participating Teams

Sahel Conference (Male)

1. David Isah – PG

2. Levi Moses – PG

3. Umar Garba – SG

4. Abdulwahab Yakubu – SG

5. Victor Eze – SG

6. Victor Mohammed – SF

7. Uchichi Samuel – SF

8. Luckey Subel – SF

9. Emmanuel C. Udueze – PF

10. Kingsley Anaba – PF

11. Nnoruka Francis – C

12. Oche David – C

Baba Jilbri – Head Coach

Hamza Abubakar – Asst. Coach

Oceanic Conference ( Male)

1. Johnson Anaiye – PG

2. Victor Sunday – PG

3. Kanyinsola Odofuwa – SG

4. Michael Daramola – SG

5. Adebayo Oduleye – SF

6. Banire – SF

7. Onyebuchi Vincent – PF

8. Ibe Agu – PF

9. Ogunsemore Jide – Center

10. Victor Koko – Center

11. Ikechukwu Oparaguo – Center

12. Michael Okiki – PG

Ogoh Odaudu – Head Coach

Emma Okolo – Asst. CoachSahel Conference (Female)

1. Tomiwa Idris – PG

2. Agatha Agba – PG

3. Bukola Akinbolawa – SG

4. Cordelia Ebere Okeke – SG

5. Chiamaka Opara – SF

6. Biribebe T. Joy – SF

7. Gloria Umeh – PF

8. Theresa Mac-Dangosu – PF

9. Omosuwa Moyinoluwa – Center

10. Nkem Akaraiwe – Center

11. Gloria Omale – PG

12. Isaac Abigail – Rising Star (Milo MVP)

Mohammed Abba – Head Coach

Tony Nelson – Asst. Coach

Oceanic Conference Female

1. Regina Donanu – PG

2. Joy Ebiega – PG

3. Puis – beggi Idubamo – SG

4. Shaikirat Agoro – SG

5. Okoh Ukamaka – SF

6. Regina Iornumbe – SF

7. Eric Favour – PF

8. Vivian Onugba – PF

9. Lijirin Doyinsola – C

10. Mariylin Ogiogbe – C

11. Jessica Onaibe – PG

12. Favour Essien – SG

Taye Adeniyi – Head Coach

Ochuko Okworogun – Asst. Coach

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *