Connect with us


2030 World Cup to be hosted across three continents 



Three continents will be hosting the 2030 World Cup across six countries, the World Football Governing body, FIFA, confirmed on Wednesday. 

Spain, Portugal, and Morocco have been named as the co-hosts, with the opening three matches taking place in Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay.

The opening matches in South America are to mark the World Cup’s centenary, as it will be 100 years since the inaugural tournament in Montevideo.

The decision would be ratified at a FIFA congress next year.

“In a divided world, FIFA and football are uniting,” said FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

“The FIFA Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the FIFA World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way. 

“In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents – Africa, Europe, and South America – six countries – Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain, and Uruguay – welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the FIFA World Cup.”

FIFA also confirmed only bids from countries from the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be considered for the 2034 finals.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *