Connect with us


Sheroes awards Amusan,Oshoala amongst others



To encourage persons in sports who have continued to put in effort and yielded outstanding results,the Sheroes Award has chosen to honour World Women’s 100m hurdles record holder,Tobi Amusan and other women in sports who have made the country proud at one time or another.  

Amusan will receive the 2022 Shero of the Year award tomorrow,November 8th, in Abuja. The theme for the award is ‘This Is Our Moment – African Women Breaking Limits’ and is aimed solely at recognizing women. 

Amusan, who won the gold medal and broke records in 100m hurdles at this year’s World Athletics Championships and the Commonwealth Games, is among outstanding Nigerian sportsmen and women selected for various categories of the Sheroes Awards.

In a statement jointly signed by Ratels Sports Development Foundation(RSDF)President, Paul Edeh and Sheroes Awards Committee Chairman, Mr. Moses Bako, yesterday, also listed reigning African Woman Footballer of the Year and Nigeria’s Super Falcons forward, Asisat Oshoala, as the winner of the Shero Footballer of the Year Award.

Head coach of Nigeria’s U-17 women’s national team (Flamingos), Bankole Olowookere, will be presented with the Shero Sports Icon of the Year award.

Coach Olowokere led the Flamingos to win, for the first time, a bronze medal at the just concluded FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Other awardees are Super Falcons star, Monday Gift (Shero Women Football Rising Star of the Year), Wife of Edo State Governor, Mrs Betsy Obaseki (Shero Trailblazer of the Year), a board member of the Nigeria Football Federation, Margaret Icheen (Shero Lifetime Achievement award), Mrs Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe (Shero Capital Achievement award), and Coach Emmanuel Osahon (Shero Women Football Talent Developer of the Year.

Ruqayyah Adeboye (Shero Humanitarian of the Year), Nelly Orisakwe (Shero Women Football Grassroots Coach of the Year) and Ayisat Yusuf-Aromire (Shero Girl-Child Advocate of the Year) will also receive awards. 

There is also a posthumous award for the late Alhaji Tewogboye Oyewole, who will be recognised as Shero Pioneer of Women’s Football in Nigeria.

Listed for the awards is the Lagos State Football Association, which is listed as Sheroes Most Outstanding Women Football Development FA of the Year.

According to the organisers, “the Sheroes Award is a yearly event dedicated to celebrating and highlighting the remarkable achievements of African women globally and their outstanding successes. It also seeks to highlight and celebrate women who have continued to leave indelible marks in the annals of our society.

“The theme for the Sheroes Award 2022 is: ‘This Is Our Moment – African Women Breaking Limits.’ Undoubtedly, the women, who will be awarded the 2022 Sheroes Award are indeed limit breakers, whose moment to be celebrated particularly their incredible success story.”

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *